In the Dark

Image

I remember this place.

We always argue about who’s suppose to be in the left, and who’s the one in the right. There’s so much time to argue as arguing is the best way to spend time. Then you hold me and smile, whispering, we can argue about it next time.

It’s always been our favourite spot. For me, it’s the most beautiful place in the world. A place where sky meets the ocean, far far away in the horizon. Where the sand feels so soft and the wave sounds so instrumental. A place where the breeze smells like coconut leaves.

I could spend forever strolling down the seashore. Collecting empty shells, making sand castle. But in the middle of the making, I always distracted by the waves and suddenly go to chase them. You always be the one who finish it. The castle won’t be the same without you.

We holding hands, nothing to say. Until the sun almost set and I stand there quietly, asking you, will the sun rise again next morning?

That time I start to worry, you take me to this place. The safest one as far as you can see. Nothing fancy, you said, “But I promise to protect you.”

And there you go. You become a storyteller to distract me from sound of unseen waves. Making a bonfire to cheer me up. Hold me until I get slept, awake just before I’m awake. You’re always there, night by night.

In the dark, I always asked you who’s suppose to be in the left, and who’s the one in the right. There’s so much time to argue as arguing is the best way to spend time. Then you hold me and smile, whispering patiently, we can argue about it next time.

One comment

Leave a Reply

